Skip to content

Bone broth with Chicken feet

March 23, 2015

I am back! Sorry for the lack of posts over the past several months. I spent time focusing on my health (healing and living with Hashimotos) and raising my family! But I am back and excited to share some great recipes with you! Just bare with me as I get back into the habit of blogging!

Today let me share with you my recipe for Bone Broth.

I know, I am not the first to blog about bone broth. It has been in the news the past several weeks, even months from celebrities coming out that they consume it to the walk up shop in New York that only sells broth! It has been all the rave!

I started making my own {mineral rich} bone broth which is not the same as my stock in December and have been drinking it ever since. I drink a small amount, 3 times a day and am working on internal healing, which I feel the broth has begun to help!  A friend gave me a connection with a local farmer to purchase Chicken Feet {I know, may be gross to some!} but chicken feet help the broth gel.

image

Check out Wellness Mamas post on bone broth, here, for benefits and uses!

image

The Ingredients:

Carcasses from 2-3 chickens (I also add in a small pouch of chicken feet)
1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
4-5 carrots, washed and cut in half
6-8 celery stalks, washed and cut into thirds
6-8 cloves of garlic
1 package of mixed herds (parsley, thyme, basil, etc)
3 bay leaves
1 tsp salt
1 gallon cold water (enough to cover the ingredients)

The Directions:

1.    Place chicken carcasses {and feet!} into a crockpot.  Add enough water to cover the bones and the apple cider vinegar. Add the vegetables, garlic, salt and bay leaves to the pot.
2.    Cover and set on high and stir once or twice in the first few hours, and then turn crockpot down to low and stir at least a couple of times over the next 12-24 hours.
3.    Strain all the ingredients by pouring bone broth from one pot to another through a colander or strainer. Let cool for 20 minutes before transferring into ice cube trays or into a mason jar for storage.

image

I add about 1/2-3/4 cup of broth into my mug. Sometimes it is necessary to add more salt before consuming. I try to not over salt while making the broth, since salt can always be added 🙂

ENJOY!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

